Wrapping Up at Peduli Anak

11 Nov

I have a day left to get everything done before I leave this wonderful place, and I don’t know how I’m going to do it! For lack of something more poetic, here’s my to-do list for tomorrow (again, not pictures because the modem just can’t take it):

1. PACK! (This will take some time – I have a whole bag of souvenirs I bought in Senggigi…)
2. Learning all the words to “Hero” by Mariah Carey for the post-wedding party of Ibu Tania, the 6th grade teacher at YPA
3. Record myself singing children’s song so the teachers at YPA can use them in the classroom
4. Giving copies of my lesson plans/songs/other teaching materials to teachers
5. Recording and editing more videos of children saying their name, their age and what they want to be (I’ve gotten mostly “doctor”, “pilot”, “teacher” and “football player”, as well as one “spa manager”).
6. Running 2 English clubs, where we’ll learn the Banana Song and make snowflakes (kids with scissors, what are you thinking Christina??)
7. Finishing my rough draft of a grant proposal to get a new shelter for the girls at YPA
8. Writing my last volunteer report!

Hopefully I’ll also get to go to Senggigi to buy some last minute items and for a last dinner with Sabrina and Laurens, and I might even go to the eye doctor with Sabrina and Samsul, a boy who has been through a lot but who might be finally getting some glasses!

As some of you know, I came here with some donation money. For the children of YPA, the funds purchased:

– 16 English-Indonesian/Indonesian-English dictionaries for SMP students
– a trip to the beach with snacks and transportation for 3 counselors and 30 kids
– about a dozen library books in Indonesian for beginners
– about 80 pairs of sandals for the kids (they lose them a lot, they’re little!)
– about 70 “rewards” (think moisturizer/perfume for the girls, and hair gel/cologne for the guys) for when the kids do good things to themselves and others
– 2 small drawing tables for the kids who don’t go to school yet (the 3 Musketeers, Dian, Kiki and Nurul)
– cooking utensils, namely a glass blender, a wok, 3 large pots and one huge cooking pot
– bed sheet materials for 10 sheets, and thread and sewing machine needles for 100+ bed sheets
– 5 emergency lights for when the power goes off (which is about every other night for at least 20 minutes)
– payment for the labor hours for making around 100 bed sheets
– (possibly) glasses for Samsul!

As you can see, a little in the US can do a long way here in Indonesia!

I’ve enjoyed my time here so much, and it will be hard for me to leave. Despite all the work I have to get done, I really want to spend my time tomorrow with all the people here, especially the kids! Although it’s not perfect and I’d like to think of a better way to do it, I’m trying to make my work sustainable by passing on lesson plans I did in class to teachers, recording songs I sang in class, and making photocopies of pertinent lesson plans from my books I brought. I’ve also been working with the teachers on pronouncing the text in their textbooks so that they’ll be more confident in speaking English in the classroom and will do it more often. I had such a great time the other day with the female teachers (Ibu Ratna (class 1), Ibu Uci (4), Ibu Sari (5) and Ibu Tania (6)) in teachers’ class- they’re such gossipers and I wish I could just hang with them all the time! Hopefully my lesson plans, pronunciation lessons and my English volunteer guide will help the program flourish and another native speaker will want to come volunteer at YPA!

Sunday, on the way to the airport, I’m going to the wedding after-party for the 6th grade teacher, Ibu Tania – I moved my travel plans a day later just for her! Later that day I’ll spend the night in Surabaya to drop off my two suitcases I won’t need for 3 weeks. Monday I’m off to Bali, on an adventure I have yet to plan! I forgot that Obama is coming to Bali on Thursday, so it’s possible I could leave before then, or I could be stuck there until he leaves! I’ll keep you all posted.

I’m going to leave you with some idioms that Indonesians sometimes use:

Nasi sudah menjadi bubur (literally: The rice has already become porridge): This means you can’t take back what you said or did, whatever that was!

Siapa menabur angin akan menuai badai (One who spreads the wind will get a storm): Someone who says something bad has it coming to them…

Mencari jarum di tumpukan jerami: Looking for a needle in a haystack (also, mendirikan benang basah (to make a wet thread stand up straight) – to be impossible!

Guru kencing berdiri, murid kencing berlari (If a teacher pees standing, his students will pee while running): I don’t quite get why the kids are running, but this means “to set a bad example”.

Air beriak tanda tak dalam (water that is not calm is shallow): to signify a shallow person (we have a similar one, “still waters run deep”, in English).

Karena nila setitik rusak susu sebelanga (one drop of poison ruins the whole bucket of milk): small mistakes ruin everything.

My personal favorite:
Gaja dipelupuk mata tidak kelihatan, kuman diseberang lautan terlihat (literally: You can’t see an elephant in front of you, but you can see a bacteria across the ocean): you can’t see the obvious.

I’ll write next from Bali!

One Response to “Wrapping Up at Peduli Anak”

  1. Tammela November 11, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Have I mentioned you’re amazing? Wow. You’ve done so many incredible things there. Well done!

Leave a Reply

